Approp, juvenile corrections, orig
APPROPRIATIONS – DEPARTMENT OF JUVENILE CORRECTIONS – Relates to the appropriation to the Department of Juvenile Corrections for fiscal years 2023 and 2024.

RS30558 / H0282

This is the FY 2024 original appropriation bill for the Department of Juvenile Corrections. It appropriates a total of $58,296,100 and caps the number of authorized full-time equivalent positions at 409.00. The bill funds three line items, which provides funding for an electronic monitoring system, a transfer of 2.00 FTP and $3,028,200 from the Community-Based Substance Abuse Treatment Services Program to the Community Operations Program Services Program, and funding to increase pay for educators. Also included in this bill is a onetime FY 2023 supplemental, which provides funding for youth assessment centers.

FY 2023 Original Appropriation Prior Year Reappropriation 1. Youth Assessment Centers FY 2023 Total Appropriation Executive Carry Forward Expenditure Adjustments FY 2023 Estimated Expenditures Removal of Onetime Expenditures Base Adjustments FY 2024 Base Personnel Benefit Costs Inflationary Adjustments Replacement Items Statewide Cost Allocation Change in Employee Compensation FY 2024 Program Maintenance DHR Consolidation 1. Electronic Monitoring System 2. Transfer SUDS Program to COPS 3. Youth Crisis Center Funding Educator Career Ladder Budget Law Exemptions/Other Adjustments FY 2024 Total Chg from FY 2023 Orig Approp % Chg from FY 2023 Orig Approp.

Bill Events
Date Description
03/08 Introduced, read first time, referred to JRA for Printing
Reported Printed; Filed for Second Reading
03/09 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading
Rules Suspended: Ayes 65 Nays 0 Abs/Excd 5, read in full as required – PASSED - 61-8-1
AYES – Alfieri, Allgood, Andrus, Barbieri, Berch, Blanksma, Boyle, Bundy, Burns, Cannon, Cheatum, Chew, Clow, Cornilles, Crane(12), Crane(13), Dixon(24), Durrant, Ehlers, Erickson, Galaviz, Gannon, Garner, Green, Handy, Hawkins, Healey, Hill, Holtzclaw, Horman, Kingsley, Lanting, Manwaring, Mathias, McCann, Mendive, Mickelsen, Miller, Mitchell, Monks, Nash, Necochea, Nelsen, Palmer, Petzke, Pickett, Raybould, Raymond, Roberts, Rubel, Sauter, Shepherd, Skaug, Vander Woude, Weber, Wheeler, Wisniewski, Wroten, Yamamoto, Young, Mr. Speaker
NAYS – Dixon(1), Ehardt, Gallagher, Lambert, Price, Redman, Scott, Tanner
Absent – Furniss
Floor Sponsor - Handy
Title apvd - to Senate
03/10 Received from the House passed; filed for first reading
Introduced, read first time; referred to: Finance
03/13 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading
03/14 Read second time; filed for Third Reading
03/20 Read third time in full – PASSED - 25-10-0
AYES – Adams, Anthon, Bernt, Bjerke, Burtenshaw, Cook, Den Hartog, Grow, Guthrie, Harris, Hartgen, Just, Lakey, Lee, Lent, Rabe, Ricks, Ruchti, Schroeder, Semmelroth, Taylor, VanOrden, Ward-Engelking, Winder, Wintrow
NAYS – Carlson, Foreman, Hart, Herndon, Lenney, Nichols, Okuniewicz, Toews, Trakel, Zuiderveld
Absent and excused – None
Floor Sponsor - Burtenshaw
Title apvd - to House
Returned from Senate Passed; to JRA for Enrolling
03/21 Reported Enrolled; Signed by Speaker; Transmitted to Senate
Received from the House enrolled/signed by Speaker
Signed by President; returned to House
03/22 Returned Signed by the President; Ordered Transmitted to Governor
Delivered to Governor at 1:15 p.m. on March 22, 2023
03/24 Reported Signed by Governor on March 23, 2023
Session Law Chapter 127
Effective: 03/23/2023 SECTION 3;
07/01/2023 all other SECTIONS