Vehicles, ports of entry
TRANSPORTATION – Amends existing law to provide for the use of technology and procedures to allow vehicles that meet established criteria to lawfully bypass a port of entry.

RS30809 / H0412

Idaho Code requires all trucks to stop at the port of entry. Consistent with the Governor’s Red Tape Reduction Act, this proposed legislation will allow some required commercial vehicle checks to be performed at ports of entry while trucks are in motion. The Idaho Transportation Department (ITD) is seeking to change the requirement to allow for the use of current technology, which enables the department to remotely monitor and permit certain trucks to bypass ports. Allowing certain trucks to bypass ports affords a significant convenience to the trucking industry and improves department program efficiency.

This legislation will have no impact on the state’s general fund or any dedicated fund or federal fund; the technology is already in place to allow some preclearance checks of commercial trucks in motion.

Bill Events
Date Description
01/19 Introduced, read first time, referred to JRA for Printing
01/22 Reported Printed and Referred to Transportation & Defense
01/31 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation, Filed for Second Reading
02/01 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading
02/02 U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar until Monday, February 5, 2024
02/05 Read Third Time in Full – PASSED - 70-0-0
AYES – Alfieri, Allgood, Andrus, Barbieri, Berch(Bratnober), Blanksma, Boyle, Bundy, Burns, Cannon, Cheatum, Chew(Wilson), Clow, Cornilles, Crane(12), Crane(13), Dixon(1), Dixon(24), Durrant, Ehardt, Ehlers, Erickson, Furniss, Galaviz, Gallagher, Gannon, Garner, Green(Ruckh), Handy, Hawkins, Healey, Hill, Holtzclaw, Horman, Kingsley, Lambert, Lanting, Manwaring, Mathias, McCann, Mendive, Mickelsen, Miller, Mitchell, Monks, Nash(Stinson), Necochea, Nelsen, Palmer, Petzke, Pickett, Price, Raybould, Raymond, Redman, Roberts, Rubel, Sauter, Scott, Shepherd, Skaug, Tanner, Vander Woude, Weber, Wheeler, Wisniewski, Wroten, Yamamoto, Young, Mr. Speaker
NAYS – None
Absent – None
Floor Sponsor - Handy
Title apvd - to Senate
02/06 Received from the House passed; filed for first reading
02/06 Introduced, read first time; referred to: Transportation
02/09 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading
02/12 Read second time; filed for Third Reading
02/29 Read third time in full – PASSED - 35-0-0
AYES – Adams, Anthon, Bernt, Bjerke, Burtenshaw, Cook, Den Hartog, Foreman, Forsmann(Carlson), Grow, Guthrie, Harris, Hart, Hartgen, Herndon, Just, Lakey, Lee, Lenney, Lent, Moser(Semmelroth), Nichols, Okuniewicz, Rabe, Ricks, Ruchti, Schroeder, Taylor, Toews, Trakel, VanOrden, Ward-Engelking, Winder, Wintrow, Zuiderveld
NAYS – None
Absent and excused – None
Floor Sponsor - Rabe
Title apvd - to House
03/01 Returned from Senate Passed; to JRA for Enrolling
03/04 Reported Enrolled; Signed by Speaker; Transmitted to Senate
03/04 Received from the House enrolled/signed by Speaker
03/04 Signed by President; returned to House
03/05 Returned Signed by the President; Ordered Transmitted to Governor
03/06 Delivered to Governor at 11:15 a.m. on March 5, 2024
03/07 Reported Signed by Governor on March 5, 2024
Session Law Chapter 14
Effective: 07/01/2024