Digital learning academy
EDUCATION – Amends existing law to change the distribution amount for the Idaho Digital Learning Academy funding and to revise certain requirements regarding funding and distributions.

RS31111 / H0452

The purpose of this bill is to modernize the funding formula of the Idaho Digital Learning Academy (IDLA), simplifying it to maintain transparency and public trust. It ensures that dollars appropriated to IDLA only go towards the program and those appropriated for public schools go to public schools. It requires the Joint Finance and Appropriations Committee to consider adjusting the funding level each year to compensate for Change in Employee Compensation for teachers and education support staff. Additionally, this change guarantees funding solely for students served by IDLA, providing long-term financial stability and retaining the program's agility in responding to the needs of Idaho public schools.

For FY 2025, the Idaho Digital Learning Academy estimates 49,680 enrollments. At $430 per enrollment, the estimated fiscal impact from state funds is $21,362,400. Using this formula will save the state almost $1.3 million for FY 2025, compared to the amount calculated in the agency request.

Bill Events
Date Description
01/31 Introduced, read first time, referred to JRA for Printing
02/01 Reported Printed and Referred to Education
02/06 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation, Filed for Second Reading
02/07 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading
02/08 U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
02/09 Read Third Time in Full – PASSED - 64-1-5
AYES – Alfieri, Allgood, Andrus, Barbieri, Berch, Blanksma, Boyle, Bundy, Burns, Cheatum, Chew(Wilson), Clow, Cornilles, Crane(12), Crane(13), Dixon(1), Dixon(24), Ehardt, Ehlers, Erickson, Furniss, Galaviz, Gallagher, Gannon, Garner, Handy, Hawkins, Healey, Hill, Holtzclaw, Horman, Kingsley, Lambert, Lanting, Manwaring, Mathias, McCann, Mendive, Mickelsen, Miller, Mitchell, Monks, Nash(Stinson), Necochea, Nelsen, Palmer, Petzke, Pickett, Raybould, Raymond, Redman, Roberts, Rubel, Sauter, Scott, Tanner, Vander Woude, Weber, Wheeler, Wisniewski, Wroten, Yamamoto, Young, Mr. Speaker
NAYS – Price
Absent – Cannon, Durrant, Green, Shepherd, Skaug
Floor Sponsor - Petzke
Title apvd - to Senate
02/12 Received from the House passed; filed for first reading
02/12 Introduced, read first time; referred to: Education
02/21 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading
02/22 Read second time; filed for Third Reading
02/29 Read third time in full – PASSED - 34-1-0
AYES – Adams, Anthon, Bernt, Bjerke, Burtenshaw, Cook, Den Hartog, Forsmann(Carlson), Grow, Guthrie, Harris, Hart, Hartgen, Herndon, Just, Lakey, Lee, Lenney, Lent, Moser(Semmelroth), Nichols, Okuniewicz, Rabe, Ricks, Ruchti, Schroeder, Taylor, Toews, Trakel, VanOrden, Ward-Engelking, Winder, Wintrow, Zuiderveld
NAYS – Foreman
Absent and excused – None
Floor Sponsor - Den Hartog
Title apvd - to House
03/01 Returned from Senate Passed; to JRA for Enrolling
03/04 Reported Enrolled; Signed by Speaker; Transmitted to Senate
03/04 Received from the House enrolled/signed by Speaker
03/04 Signed by President; returned to House
03/05 Returned Signed by the President; Ordered Transmitted to Governor
03/06 Delivered to Governor at 11:15 a.m. on March 5, 2024
03/08 Reported Signed by Governor on March 7, 2024
Session Law Chapter 17
Effective: 07/01/2024