Commission of pardons and parole
CRIMINAL PROCEDURE – Amends existing law to revise provisions regarding the Idaho Commission of Pardons and Parole.

RS30808 / H0462

In 2021, the Idaho Legislature passed H.B. 150 which created Chapter 10, Title 20, consolidating all legal authorities and responsibilities of the Commission of Pardons and Parole in a single chapter. This bill corrects two reference errors from that legislation. Further, in 1999 the Legislature passed a bill making the Commission a separate agency from the Department of Correction with separate and independent, leadership appointed by the governor, as well as separate budgets, and rulemaking processes. This bill also cleans up older, confusing references about these separate agencies making sure the separation effectuated in 1999 is correctly noted in all relevant references in code. Though separate, IDOC and the Commission are still required to work together on their parallel missions. See Sections 20-201A(2) and 20-1002(4), Idaho Code.

This legislation will have no impact on the state’s General Fund or any dedicated fund or federal fund because this legislation solely corrects reference errors and because the Commission is already a separate agency from the Department of Correction.

Bill Events
Date Description
02/01 Introduced, read first time, referred to JRA for Printing
02/02 Reported Printed and Referred to Judiciary, Rules & Administration
02/14 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation, Filed for Second Reading
02/15 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading
02/16 Read Third Time in Full – PASSED - 70-0-0
AYES – Achilles, Alfieri, Allgood, Andrus, Barbieri, Berch, Blanksma, Boyle, Bundy, Burns, Cannon, Cheatum, Chew(Wilson), Clow, Cornilles, Crane(12), Crane(13), Dixon(1), Dixon(24), Durrant, Ehardt, Ehlers, Erickson, Furniss, Galaviz, Gallagher, Gannon, Garner, Green, Handy, Hawkins, Healey, Hill, Holtzclaw, Horman, Kingsley, Lambert, Lanting, Manwaring, Mathias, McCann, Mendive, Mickelsen, Miller, Mitchell, Monks, Necochea, Nelsen, Palmer, Petzke, Pickett, Price, Raybould, Raymond, Redman, Roberts, Rubel, Sauter, Scott, Shepherd, Skaug, Tanner, Vander Woude, Weber, Wheeler, Wisniewski, Wroten, Yamamoto, Young, Mr. Speaker
NAYS – None
Absent – None
Floor Sponsor - Dixon(24)
Title apvd - to Senate
02/19 Received from the House passed; filed for first reading
02/19 Introduced, read first time; referred to: Judiciary & Rules
03/11 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading
03/12 Read second time; filed for Third Reading
03/18 Read third time in full – PASSED - 33-0-2
AYES – Anthon, Bernt, Bjerke, Burtenshaw, Carlson, Cook, Den Hartog, Foreman, Grow, Guthrie, Harris, Hart, Hartgen, Herndon, Just, Lakey, Lenney, Lent, Nichols, Okuniewicz, Rabe, Ricks, Ruchti, Schroeder, Semmelroth, Taylor, Toews, Trakel, VanOrden, Ward-Engelking, Winder, Wintrow, Zuiderveld
NAYS – None
Absent and excused – Adams, Lee
Floor Sponsor - Ricks
Title apvd - to House
03/19 Returned from Senate Passed; to JRA for Enrolling
03/19 Reported Enrolled; Signed by Speaker; Transmitted to Senate
03/20 Received from the House enrolled/signed by Speaker
03/20 Signed by President; returned to House
03/21 Returned Signed by the President; Ordered Transmitted to Governor
03/21 Delivered to Governor at 10:35 a.m. on March 21, 2024
03/25 Reported Signed by Governor on March 22, 2024
Session Law Chapter 164
Effective: 07/01/2024