State Affairs (Senate)
Compact, border security
INTERSTATE COMPACT FOR BORDER SECURITY – Adds to existing law to authorize the Governor to develop and execute an interstate compact for border security, to provide that congressional approval shall not be required, and to require certain provisions be included in an interstate compact.

RS31090 / H0464

This legislation is titled Interstate Compact for Border Security. This legislation will provide legislative approval for the Governor to enter into a formal compact with other states to take action to secure the international borders of the United States. Normally the Constitution of the United Sates requires congressional approval before a compact between states is effective. However, there is an exception to this requirement at Article 1, Section 10, Clause 3 when an invasion is taking place or when there are circumstances that must be addressed immediately and there is no time to wait for the congressional process.

The Interstate Compact For Border Security falls in this exceptions authority and will empower our governor to take action quickly when such action is necessary and a delay in response on the part of the governor would be detrimental to Idaho and or to the other state with which we have entered into this compact.

This legislation expends no money, nor does it require any action on the part of the state. The legislation only provides authority for Idaho to enter into an interstate compact with others of the several states.

Bill Events
Date Description
02/01 Introduced, read first time, referred to JRA for Printing
02/02 Reported Printed and Referred to State Affairs
02/22 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation, Filed for Second Reading
02/23 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading
02/26 U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
02/27 Read Third Time in Full – PASSED - 48-20-2
AYES – Alfieri, Allgood, Andrus, Barbieri, Blanksma, Boyle, Bundy, Cannon, Clow, Cornilles, Crane(13), Dixon(1), Durrant, Ehardt, Ehlers, Erickson, Gallagher, Handy, Hawkins, Healey, Hill, Holtzclaw, Horman, Kingsley, Lambert, McCann, Mendive, Miller, Mitchell, Monks, Palmer, Pickett, Price, Raybould, Redman, Sauter, Scott, Shepherd, Skaug, Tanner, Vander Woude, Weber, Wheeler, Wisniewski, Wroten, Yamamoto, Young, Mr. Speaker
NAYS – Achilles, Burns, Cheatum, Chew(Hansen), Dixon(24), Furniss, Galaviz, Gannon, Garner, Green, Lanting, Manwaring, Mathias, Mickelsen, Necochea, Nelsen, Petzke, Raymond, Roberts, Rubel
Absent – Berch, Crane(12)
Floor Sponsor - Wisniewski
Title apvd - to Senate
02/28 Received from the House passed; filed for first reading
02/28 Introduced, read first time; referred to: State Affairs