Harmful material, internet
LIABILITY FOR PUBLISHERS AND DISTRIBUTORS OF MATERIAL HARMFUL TO MINORS ON THE INTERNET – Adds to existing law to establish provisions to protect minors from harmful material on the internet.

RS31196 / H0498

This legislation establishes the Online Child Safety Act. Our kids are afflicted with a destructive pornography epidemic, and there are no real accountability measures that prevent online publishers from making it accessible to them. In keeping with Article III section 24 of the Idaho Constitution, which states that "The foremost concern of all good government is the virtue and sobriety of the people, and the purity of the home," Idaho Code § 18-1515 already prohibits "disseminating material harmful to minors." Today's internet environment thwarts the enforceability of the existing language. This legislation empowers parents of harmed children with standing to sue perpetrating content providers for a civil remedy if they fail to take reasonable steps to ensure they are not providing such content to minors.

This legislation does not require the expenditure of any state funds and does not create, repeal, or amend any state taxes or fees. Consequently, it would have no fiscal impact on the General Fund or any other state fund.

Bill Events
Date Description
02/07 Introduced, read first time, referred to JRA for Printing
02/08 Reported Printed and Referred to State Affairs
02/12 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation, Filed for Second Reading
02/13 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading
02/14 Read Third Time in Full – PASSED - 67-0-3
AYES – Alfieri, Allgood, Andrus, Barbieri, Berch, Blanksma, Boyle, Bundy, Burns, Cannon, Cheatum, Clow, Cornilles, Crane(12), Crane(13), Dixon(1), Durrant, Ehardt, Ehlers, Erickson, Furniss, Galaviz, Gallagher, Gannon, Garner, Green, Handy, Hawkins, Healey, Hill(Brown), Holtzclaw, Horman, Kingsley, Lambert, Lanting, Manwaring, Mathias, McCann, Mendive, Mickelsen, Miller, Mitchell, Monks, Nash(Stinson), Necochea, Nelsen, Palmer, Petzke, Pickett, Price, Raybould, Raymond, Redman, Roberts, Rubel, Sauter, Scott, Shepherd, Skaug, Vander Woude, Weber, Wheeler, Wisniewski, Wroten, Yamamoto, Young, Mr. Speaker
NAYS – None
Absent – Chew(Wilson), Dixon(24), Tanner
Floor Sponsors - Young & Price
Title apvd - to Senate
02/15 Received from the House passed; filed for first reading
02/15 Introduced, read first time; referred to: State Affairs
02/28 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading
02/29 Read second time; filed for Third Reading
03/12 Retained on calendar
03/13 Retained on calendar
03/14 Read third time in full – PASSED - 33-0-2
AYES – Anthon, Bernt, Bjerke, Burtenshaw, Carlson, Cook, Den Hartog, Foreman, Grow, Guthrie, Harris, Hart, Hartgen, Herndon, Just, Lakey, Lee, Lenney, Lent, Nichols, Okuniewicz, Rabe, Ricks, Ruchti, Schroeder, Semmelroth, Taylor, Toews, Trakel, Ward-Engelking, Winder, Wintrow, Zuiderveld
NAYS – None
Absent and excused – Adams, VanOrden
Floor Sponsor - Toews
Title apvd - to House
03/15 Returned from Senate Passed; to JRA for Enrolling
03/18 Reported Enrolled; Signed by Speaker; Transmitted to Senate
03/18 Received from the House enrolled/signed by Speaker
03/18 Signed by President; returned to House
03/19 Returned Signed by the President; Ordered Transmitted to Governor
03/20 Delivered to Governor at 11:45 a.m. on March 19, 2024
03/21 Reported Signed by Governor on March 20, 2024
Session Law Chapter 113
Effective: 07/01/2024