Identification cards
IDENTIFICATION CARDS – Amends existing law to remove a requirement that an individual must not have possessed a driver’s license for the last six months to be eligible to receive a certain identification card.

RS31152 / H0532

This legislation removes the six-month waiting period to qualify for a no-fee identification card through the Idaho Department of Transportation ("ITD") for the purpose of complying with voter registration and voting requirements.

A standard four-year identification card is $15.00. $10.00 of this amount is distributed to the highway distribution account. Of the $5.00, approximately $3.00 is distributed to ITD, and $2.00 is distributed among local highway jurisdictions.

Bill Events
Date Description
02/09 Introduced, read first time, referred to JRA for Printing
02/12 Reported Printed and Referred to Transportation & Defense
02/15 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation, Filed for Second Reading
02/16 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading
02/19 U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
02/20 Read Third Time in Full – PASSED - 62-7-1
AYES – Achilles, Alfieri, Allgood, Andrus, Barbieri, Berch, Blanksma, Boyle, Bundy, Burns, Cannon, Cheatum, Chew(Wilson), Clow, Cornilles, Crane(12), Crane(13), Dixon(1), Dixon(24), Durrant, Ehardt, Ehlers, Erickson, Furniss, Galaviz, Gallagher, Gannon, Garner, Green, Handy, Healey, Hill, Holtzclaw, Horman, Lanting, Manwaring, Mathias, McCann, Mendive, Mickelsen, Miller, Mitchell, Monks, Necochea, Nelsen, Palmer, Petzke, Pickett, Raybould, Raymond, Redman, Roberts, Sauter, Shepherd, Skaug, Vander Woude, Weber, Wheeler, Wroten, Yamamoto, Young, Mr. Speaker
NAYS – Hawkins, Kingsley, Lambert, Price, Scott, Tanner, Wisniewski
Absent – Rubel
Floor Sponsor - Mitchell
Title apvd - to Senate
02/21 Received from the House passed; filed for first reading
02/21 Introduced, read first time; referred to: Transportation
02/27 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading
02/28 Read second time; filed for Third Reading
03/06 Read third time in full – PASSED - 29-4-2
AYES – Anthon, Bernt, Bjerke, Burtenshaw, Carlson, Cook, Den Hartog, Grow, Guthrie, Harris, Hartgen, Just, Lakey, Lee, Lent, Nichols, Okuniewicz, Rabe, Ricks, Ruchti, Schroeder, Semmelroth, Taylor, Toews, Trakel, VanOrden, Winder, Wintrow, Zuiderveld
NAYS – Foreman, Hart, Herndon, Lenney
Absent and excused – Adams, Ward-Engelking
Floor Sponsor - Winder
Title apvd - to House
03/07 Returned from Senate Passed; to JRA for Enrolling
03/07 Reported Enrolled; Signed by Speaker; Transmitted to Senate
03/08 Received from the House enrolled/signed by Speaker
03/08 Signed by President; returned to House
03/11 Returned Signed by the President; Ordered Transmitted to Governor
03/11 Delivered to Governor at 10:33 a.m. on March 11, 2024
03/13 Reported Signed by Governor on March 12, 2024
Session Law Chapter 31
Effective: 07/01/2024