Strategic initiative grants, LHTAC
STRATEGIC INITIATIVES GRANT PROGRAM – Amends existing law to revise provisions regarding the Strategic Initiatives Grant Program.

RS31476 / H0638

This legislation changes the administration of the Strategic Initiatives Grant Program from the Idaho Transportation Department (ITD) to the Local Highway Technical Assistance Council (LHTAC). Additionally, large urban areas receiving grants will be required to match 20% of their funds per grant.

This legislation causes no additional expenditure of funds at the state or local level of government, nor does it cause an increase or decrease in revenue for state or local government, therefore this legislation has no fiscal impact.

Bill Events
Date Description
02/23 Introduced, read first time, referred to JRA for Printing
02/26 Reported Printed and Referred to Transportation & Defense
02/29 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation, Filed for Second Reading
03/01 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading
03/04 U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
03/05 U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
03/06 U.C. to be placed on General Orders, no objection
03/08 Referred to the Committee of the Whole
03/08 Reported out without recommendation as amended
03/08 Amendments Referred to the JRA for Printing
03/08 Bill as Amended Referred to JRA for Engrossing
03/11 Reported Engrossed; Filed for First Reading of Engrossed Bills
03/11 Read first time as amended; filed for Second Reading
03/12 Read second time as amended; Filed for Third Reading
03/12 Rules Suspended: Ayes 70 Nays 0 Abs/Excd 0, read in full as required – PASSED - 68-2-0
AYES – Achilles, Alfieri, Allgood, Andrus, Barbieri, Blanksma, Boyle, Bundy, Burns, Cannon, Cheatum, Chew(Beazer), Clow, Cornilles, Crane(12), Crane(13), Dixon(1), Dixon(24), Durrant, Ehardt, Ehlers, Erickson, Furniss, Galaviz, Gallagher, Gannon, Garner, Green, Handy, Hawkins, Healey, Hill(McKnight), Holtzclaw, Horman, Kingsley, Lambert, Lanting, Manwaring, Mathias, McCann, Mendive, Mickelsen, Miller, Mitchell, Monks, Nelsen, Palmer, Petzke, Pickett, Price, Raybould, Raymond, Redman, Roberts, Rubel, Sauter, Scott, Shepherd, Skaug, Tanner, Vander Woude, Weber, Wheeler, Wisniewski, Wroten, Yamamoto, Young, Mr. Speaker
NAYS – Berch, Necochea
Absent – None
Floor Sponsor - Palmer
Title apvd - to Senate
03/13 Received from the House passed; filed for first reading
03/13 Introduced, read first time; referred to: Transportation
03/14 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading
03/15 Read second time; filed for Third Reading
03/20 Read third time in full – PASSED - 32-3-0
AYES – Adams, Anthon, Bernt, Bjerke, Burtenshaw, Carlson, Cook, Den Hartog, Foreman, Grow, Guthrie, Harris, Hart, Hartgen, Herndon, Lakey, Lee, Lenney, Lent, Nichols, Okuniewicz, Ricks, Ruchti, Schroeder, Semmelroth, Taylor, Toews, Trakel, VanOrden, Ward-Engelking, Winder, Zuiderveld
NAYS – Just, Rabe, Wintrow
Absent and excused – None
Floor Sponsor - Den Hartog
Title apvd - to House
03/21 Returned from Senate Passed; to JRA for Enrolling
03/21 Reported Enrolled; Signed by Speaker; Transmitted to Senate
03/21 Received from the House enrolled/signed by Speaker
03/21 Signed by President; returned to House
03/22 Returned Signed by the President; Ordered Transmitted to Governor
03/25 Delivered to Governor at 12:10 p.m. on March 22, 2024
03/28 Reported Signed by Governor on March 28, 2024
Session Law Chapter 229
Effective: 07/01/2024