2nd Reading (Senate)
Judicial compensation
JUDICIAL COMPENSATION – Amends existing law to provide that certain judges and magistrate judges shall be eligible to receive a bonus upon retirement and to revise a provision regarding the salary of the justices of the Supreme Court.

RS31732 / H0746

This legislation provides for an increase in judicial salaries by increasing the salary of supreme court justices from $165,212 to $169,508, which is an increase of $4,296, or 2.6%. Since the salary of court of appeals judges in set at $8,000 less than supreme court justices, district court judges are set at $6,000 below court of appeals judges, and magistrate judges are set at $8,000 less than district court judges, meaning each type of judge will receive a $4,296 increase. The percentage increase will be slightly higher for each of the types of judges, up to a 3.0% increase for magistrate judges. This legislation also provides a retirement bonus incentive for judges and justices who serve through the end of their term before retiring, if they do so in such a way as to allow their positions to be filled by election, rather than appointment. Magistrate judges are also included, although their positions are always filled by appointment. This one-time bonus would be $25,000.

Bill Events
Date Description
03/25 Introduced, read first time, referred to JRA for Printing
03/25 Reported Printed and Referred to Judiciary, Rules & Administration
03/27 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation, Filed for Second Reading
03/28 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading
03/28 Rules Suspended: Ayes 68 Nays 0 Abs/Excd 2, read in full as required – PASSED - 62-8-0
AYES – Achilles, Alfieri, Allgood, Andrus, Barbieri, Blanksma, Boyle, Bundy, Cannon, Cheatum, Clow, Cornilles, Crane(12), Crane(13), Dixon(1), Dixon(24), Durrant, Ehardt, Ehlers, Erickson, Furniss, Gallagher, Gannon, Garner, Handy, Hawkins, Healey, Hill(Brown), Holtzclaw(Johnson), Horman, Kingsley, Lambert, Lanting, Manwaring, Mathias, Mendive, Mickelsen, Miller, Mitchell, Monks, Nelsen, Palmer, Petzke, Pickett, Price, Raybould, Raymond, Redman, Roberts, Sauter, Scott, Shepherd, Skaug, Tanner, Vander Woude, Weber(Weber), Wheeler, Wisniewski, Wroten, Yamamoto, Young, Mr. Speaker
NAYS – Berch, Burns, Chew(Harada), Galaviz, Green, McCann, Necochea, Rubel
Absent – None
Floor Sponsor - Skaug
Title apvd - to Senate
03/29 Received from the House passed; filed for first reading
03/29 Introduced, read first time; referred to: Judiciary & Rules
04/02 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading