Approp, labor, orig
APPROPRIATIONS – DEPARTMENT OF LABOR – Relates to the appropriation to the Department of Labor for fiscal years 2023 and 2024.

RS30596 / S1164

This is the FY 2024 original appropriation bill for the Department of Labor. It appropriates a total of $107,615,700 and caps the number of authorized full-time equivalent positions at 702.58. The bill funds one line item, which provides funding for unemployment insurance administration.

The bill also provides a net-zero FY 2023 supplemental appropriation which reduces the appropriation for the Administration Program and increases the appropriation for the Determinations Program. This supplemental aligns available appropriation with the program where the actual expenditures occur.

Bill Events
Date Description
03/13 Introduced; read first time; referred to JR for Printing
Reported Printed; referred to Finance
03/14 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading
03/15 Read second time; filed for Third Reading
03/17 Read third time in full – PASSED - 28-6-1
AYES – Adams, Anthon, Bernt, Bjerke, Burtenshaw, Carlson, Cook, Foreman, Grow, Guthrie, Harris, Hartgen, Herndon, Just, Lakey, Lee, Okuniewicz, Rabe, Ricks, Ruchti, Schroeder, Semmelroth, Taylor, Toews, VanOrden, Ward-Engelking, Winder, Wintrow
NAYS – Den Hartog, Hart, Lenney, Nichols, Trakel, Zuiderveld
Absent and excused – Lent
Floor Sponsor - Herndon
Title apvd - to House
03/20 Received from the Senate, Filed for First Reading
Read First Time, Filed for Second Reading
03/21 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading
03/22 Read Third Time in Full – PASSED - 64-3-3
AYES – Alfieri, Allgood, Andrus, Barbieri, Berch, Blanksma, Bundy, Burns, Cannon, Cheatum, Chew, Clow, Cornilles, Crane(12), Crane(13), Dixon(1), Dixon(24), Durrant, Ehardt, Ehlers, Erickson, Furniss, Galaviz, Gannon, Garner, Green, Handy, Hawkins, Healey, Holtzclaw, Horman, Kingsley, Lambert, Lanting, Manwaring, Mathias, McCann, Mendive, Mickelsen, Miller, Mitchell, Monks, Necochea, Nelsen, Palmer, Petzke, Pickett, Raybould, Raymond, Redman, Roberts, Rubel, Sauter, Scott, Shepherd, Skaug, Tanner, Vander Woude, Weber, Wheeler, Wroten, Yamamoto, Young, Mr. Speaker
NAYS – Gallagher, Price, Wisniewski
Absent – Boyle, Hill, Nash
Floor Sponsor - Petzke
Title apvd - to Senate
03/23 Returned From House Passed; referred to enrolling
Reported enrolled; signed by President; to House for signature of Speaker
03/24 Received from Senate; Signed by Speaker; Returned to Senate
Reported signed by the Speaker & ordered delivered to Governor
Reported delivered to Governor at 11:15 a.m. on 03/24/23
03/28 Signed by Governor on 03/27/23
Session Law Chapter 163
Effective: 03/27/2023 SECTION 4-6;
07/01/2023 all other SECTIONS