Library board elections, terms
LIBRARY BOARD ELECTIONS – Amends existing law to change library board elections from once every six years to once every four years.

RS30889 / S1235

This legislation amends Idaho Code to change the terms of library district trustees from six (6) year terms to four (4) year terms. The change will take effect on January 1. 2025 and apply to elections held in 2025 and going forward. All trustees elected through 2023 will fulfill their original six-year terms.

There is not expected to be an impact on state or local funding, since the time of the underlying elections does not change.

Bill Events
Date Description
01/17 Introduced; read first time; referred to JR for Printing
01/18 Reported Printed; referred to State Affairs
02/02 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading
02/05 Read second time; filed for Third Reading
02/06 Read third time in full – PASSED - 22-12-1
AYES – Adams, Anthon, Bjerke, Carlson, Den Hartog, Foreman, Grow, Guthrie, Hart, Herndon, Lakey, Lee, Lenney, Lent, Nichols, Okuniewicz, Ricks, Toews, Trakel, VanOrden, Winder, Zuiderveld
NAYS – Bernt, Burtenshaw, Cook, Harris, Hartgen, Just, Rabe, Schroeder, Semmelroth, Taylor, Ward-Engelking, Wintrow
Absent and excused – Ruchti
Floor Sponsor - Herndon
Title apvd - to House
02/07 Received from the Senate, Filed for First Reading
02/07 Read First Time, Referred to State Affairs
03/19 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation, Filed for Second Reading
03/20 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading
03/21 Read Third Time in Full – PASSED - 61-9-0
AYES – Alfieri, Allgood, Andrus, Barbieri, Berch, Blanksma, Boyle, Bundy, Cannon, Cheatum, Clow, Cornilles, Crane(12), Crane(13), Dixon(1), Dixon(24), Durrant, Ehardt, Ehlers, Erickson, Furniss, Gallagher, Garner, Handy, Hawkins, Healey, Hill, Holtzclaw, Horman, Kingsley, Lambert, Lanting, Manwaring, McCann, Mendive, Mickelsen, Miller, Mitchell, Monks, Nelsen, Palmer, Petzke, Pickett, Price, Raybould, Raymond, Redman, Roberts, Sauter, Scott, Shepherd, Skaug, Tanner, Vander Woude, Weber(Mendenhall), Wheeler, Wisniewski, Wroten, Yamamoto, Young, Mr. Speaker
NAYS – Achilles, Burns, Chew(Beazer), Galaviz, Gannon, Green, Mathias, Necochea, Rubel
Absent – None
Floor Sponsor - Crane(12)
Title apvd - to Senate
03/21 Returned From House Passed; referred to enrolling
03/22 Reported enrolled; signed by President; to House for signature of Speaker
03/25 Received from Senate; Signed by Speaker; Returned to Senate
03/25 Reported signed by the Speaker & ordered delivered to Governor
03/26 Reported delivered to Governor at 2:42 p.m. on 03/25/24
03/26 Signed by Governor on 03/26/24
Session Law Chapter 199
Effective: 01/01/2025