Electioneering at polls prohibited
ELECTIONS – Amends existing law to revise provisions regarding electioneering activities near polling places, to provide certain qualifications, and to revise penalties for violations.

RS30975 / S1244

To maintain the integrity of elections and to provide voters a polling place free from interference or intimidation, this legislation clarifies and augments the prohibitions against electioneering and related activity at the polls. The penalty for violating electioneering prohibitions is also expanded to include an increased fine amount and a misdemeanor conviction for repeat offenders.

This legislation causes no additional expenditure of state or local funds, nor does it cause a decrease in revenue. Therefore, this legislation has no negative fiscal impact.

Bill Events
Date Description
01/23 Introduced; read first time; referred to JR for Printing
01/24 Reported Printed; referred to Judiciary & Rules
02/01 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading
02/02 Read second time; filed for Third Reading
02/06 Read third time in full – PASSED - 23-12-0
AYES – Adams, Anthon, Bernt, Burtenshaw, Cook, Grow, Guthrie, Harris, Hartgen, Just, Lakey, Lee, Lent, Rabe, Ricks, Ruchti, Schroeder, Semmelroth, Taylor, VanOrden, Ward-Engelking, Winder, Wintrow
NAYS – Bjerke, Carlson, Den Hartog, Foreman, Hart, Herndon, Lenney, Nichols, Okuniewicz, Toews, Trakel, Zuiderveld
Absent and excused – None
Floor Sponsor - Hartgen
Title apvd - to House
02/07 Received from the Senate, Filed for First Reading
02/07 Read First Time, Referred to State Affairs
03/19 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation, Filed for Second Reading
03/20 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading
03/20 Rules Suspended: Ayes 70 Nays 0 Abs/Excd 0, read in full as required – PASSED - 57-12-1
AYES – Achilles, Allgood, Andrus, Berch, Blanksma, Boyle, Bundy, Burns, Cannon, Cheatum, Chew(Beazer), Clow, Cornilles, Crane(12)(Crane), Crane(13), Dixon(1), Dixon(24), Durrant, Ehardt, Ehlers, Erickson, Furniss, Galaviz, Gannon, Garner, Green, Handy, Healey, Hill, Holtzclaw, Horman, Lanting, Manwaring, Mathias, McCann, Mickelsen, Miller, Mitchell, Monks, Necochea, Nelsen, Palmer, Petzke, Pickett, Raybould, Raymond, Roberts, Rubel, Sauter, Shepherd, Skaug, Vander Woude, Weber(Mendenhall), Wheeler, Wroten, Yamamoto, Mr. Speaker
NAYS – Alfieri, Barbieri, Gallagher, Hawkins, Kingsley, Lambert, Mendive, Price, Redman, Scott, Tanner, Wisniewski
Absent – Young
Floor Sponsor - Sauter
Title apvd - to Senate
03/20 Returned From House Passed; referred to enrolling
03/21 Reported enrolled; signed by President; to House for signature of Speaker
03/21 Received from Senate; Signed by Speaker; Returned to Senate
03/21 Reported signed by the Speaker & ordered delivered to Governor
03/22 Reported delivered to Governor at 4:40 p.m. on 03/21/24
03/26 Signed by Governor on 03/26/24
Session Law Chapter 195
Effective: 03/26/2024