Youth athletes, chiropractic phys
YOUTH ATHLETES – Amends existing law to permit certain qualified chiropractors to evaluate and authorize return to play for youth athletes who are suspected of having sustained a concussion during school athletic activities.

RS31170 / S1288

This legislation adds an Idaho licensed chiropractic physician to the list of qualified health professionals permitted to return a youth athlete to participation in a sport after healing from a diagnosed concussion. It also allows a chiropractic physician to evaluate a youth athlete for a suspected concussion and determine their ability to continue participating in a sporting event.

To "return to play", the chiropractic physician must have successfully completed a board of chiropractic physicians approved concussion management education program. The program must include instruction on comprehensive concussion and other brain injury evaluation, ongoing reassessment of patient, recognition of atypical response to brain injury, implementation of appropriate plan of care, return to activity determination, and referral to appropriate health care provider as indicated.

The standards for the qualifying education program mirror the standards put forth by the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education for an athletic trainer master's degree program. Within Idaho statute, chiropractic physicians are authorized to supervise athletic trainers in carrying out their duties as defined by their scope of practice.

There is no impact to the general fund or to the budget of the State Board of Chiropractic Physicians. This change doesn't impact licensing fees or increase administrative costs.

Bill Events
Date Description
02/07 Introduced; read first time; referred to JR for Printing
02/08 Reported Printed; referred to Health & Welfare
02/28 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading
02/29 Read second time; filed for Third Reading
03/01 Read third time in full – PASSED - 33-2-0
AYES – Adams, Anthon, Bernt, Bjerke, Burtenshaw, Carlson, Cook, Den Hartog, Foreman, Grow, Guthrie, Harris, Hart, Hartgen, Herndon, Just, Lakey, Lee, Lenney, Lent, Nichols, Okuniewicz, Ricks, Ruchti, Schroeder, Taylor, Toews, Trakel, VanOrden, Ward-Engelking, Winder, Wintrow, Zuiderveld
NAYS – Moser(Semmelroth), Rabe
Absent and excused – None
Floor Sponsor - Bjerke
Title apvd - to House
03/04 Received from the Senate, Filed for First Reading
03/04 Read First Time, Referred to Health & Welfare